Home

To everyone who has been waiting so patiently for Bar-El and I to have this baby…keep waiting.

The baby is not here, but we had a really good dry run this morning for what going into labor and having the baby might be like. And, for those of you who are wondering: No, I did not just wet my pants again. This was pretty realistic.

I spent all day yesterday wandering around town with Nikki and Ryan, trying to get things started with the baby. Nothing. Not even a good contraction or two. Came home, lit Hanukkah candles with Bar-El, folded laundry, finished packing Bar-El’s hospital overnight bag. Nothing. Bar-El and I walked with Toku over to Nikki and Ryan’s to take them some chocolate and have some apple cider. Nothing.

Being that we are all a little anxious about the baby coming, Nikki served me something she called “Fire and Ice:” homemade ice cream blended with strawberries and Hatch green chiles. We thought the spiciness of the chiles might stimulate some action. Although the chiles were VERY spicy, still NOTHING, as far as labor signs. So home we went.

Sometime in the middle of the night, Yafeh (the cat) jumped off of my belly a couple of times. I didn’t think anything of it, since she does it all the time. However, at about 2:45, I had a contraction that hurt so bad, it woke me up. So, I thought, ok, I’ll get up and go to the bathroom and just wait and see what’s going on. As soon as I stood up, though: gush. My water. I was sure of it. I went to the bathroom and cleaned up a bit (more leaking). I went upstairs and got a pair of sweatpants (leak). Cleaned up again, Bar-El woke up (leak). And Bar-El decided it was time to call the doctor (continuing to leak). We get ready to go to the hospital (leak, leak). We go, they check us in. We’re there for about two hours (continuing to leak the whole time), but they determine that it ISN’T my water, it is just a sign that I am finally starting to dilate, and possibly go into the beginnings of early labor (leak, leak, leak). They sent us home, with the instructions “Be prepared” (leak).

Are you kidding me?

One funny thing did come out of this episode. Bar-El, as the cat was practicing her Olympic floor routine on my tummy, was asleep and having a very silly dream about my actually having the baby. He dreamed (I am sure, as a result of the combo of something Nikki said, and the green chile ice cream, as well as his own anxiety) that I had the baby while he was at work, and when he arrived, I was getting ready to take the baby home.

In the dream, I told him, “By the way, I already named the baby…his name is Juan Chupita (Spanish speakers, is “Chupita” even a word? It sounds like a snack food from Taco Bell). I liked the name, and that’s what it is.”

Needless to say, when he woke up, Bar-El was already nervous about my having named the beby Juan Chupita, and there I was, wandering around, leaking. Good news is: we got to practice going to the hospital, and everything went very smoothly and calmly; we are not naming the baby Juan Chupita (or anything like it, although I suggested using it as a family nickname); and I am home, waiting for real labor to set in. I anticipate, at this point, going to the hospital in the next day or so, given the continuing of contractions and pace at which I was dilating.

We’ll keep you posted.

One thought on “Juan Chupita

Leave a Reply

