Home

This week I returned to work, and–although I was glad to be back in the world of work, adults and productivity–I found it more difficult than I expected to hand Izzy over to our sitter. I have known since I became pregnant with Izzy that I would be returning to work relatively soon after he was born, and I have had his day care situation arranged with a wonderful woman for some time, /even still, actually buckling him into someone else’s car and saying good-bye to him for the day was possibly the hardest thing I have had to do since he was born. I think I would have an easier time of it if he could talk–not because I am concerned that something is happening to him at the sitter’s, but because I just want to hear from him that everything is all right and he has had a good time while he was away. It is day three of saying good-bye to him in the morning, and it is getting easier, but I still kind-of wish I could stay at home with him for awhile longer–despite my complaints of being the human feed-trough.
Ironically, I even felt sad about leaving him yesterday; he stayed home with Daddy for the day, as Bar-El was working from home so the Maytag repairman could come to fix our fridge. Working from home with a baby in the house seemed a near impossibility to my thinking, but Bar-El insisted, so I left them in the morning as I headed off to work myself. My efforts as a mother were rewarded when I returned home in the afternoon, however, as Bar-El reported that he found it virtually impossible to work while watching Izzy, and had “new respect” for the housework and other tasks I was able to accomplish in my time at home with the baby. It was almost like getting a Mother-of-the-Year award.

3 thoughts on “Back to Work

  1. Although it was 20 years ago (not 50, Bar-El), and although I got to stay home for 9 months with Paige, I remember those feelings distinctly, Venessa, but I never could have said it as well as you did! My thoughts and sympathy are with you, but in the end, it all works out. Don’t be too hard on yourself! And good for you, Bar-El, for giving it your best shot – you’re a braver man than some!With Love,Ranee

Leave a Reply

