Home
Menu-Planning Monday LogoI come from a long line of frugal women.  My mom can smell a deal on the cheap from ten miles away; my grandmother could make about a million different meals using canned tomato soup.  While I have always been a fan of getting great deals–I never met a clearance rack I didn’t like–I have recently committed to living more frugally, with the long-term aim of saving more money for our family to do the things we love.  In this spirit, I have renewed my love affair with menu-planning.
Yes, I said it: I love menu-planning.  There is nothing like getting all the shopping done for a two week period, and being able to prep in advance so you can spend more time with your kids instead of with your stove.  There is also something truly satisfying about buying only what you need and being able to use some multi-tasking ingredients to create several delicious meals, while eliminating extra food waste.  So, I menu plan.  Some weeks, I do better than others, but in general, menu-planning gives me the ability to save money, save time and save my sanity.
I use a great smartphone app as my primary menu-planning tool: PepperPlate.  It allows me to import or manually enter and tag/catalogue recipes; plan meals in a calendar view; and extract my shopping list from selected recipes and meal plans.  I love it.  I also love coupons, and try to save at least 25% on each grocery shopping trip (hooray for King Soopers: their receipts tell you right at the end how much you saved in in-store deals and coupons).  When planning, I typically plan two weeks at a time (but I will only post one at a time here).  I always plan dinners, and some breakfasts.  I don’t plan weekday lunches, as those usually consist of leftovers; but I do plan Shabbat lunches, unless we are invited somewhere else.  We don’t usually eat a formal dinner on Saturday; Shabbat lunch fills us up, and then we may have some light, “real food” snacks in the evening.I started posting my menus here after visiting the blog I’m an Organizing Junkie, and seeing all the great menus and resources that Laura had posted for planning and saving on family meals.
So, without further ado: this week’s menu plan…

Breakfast

Lunch

Dinner

Sunday

Tender pan-fried chicken breasts

Roasted rosemary potatoes

Monday

Caramel-Banana Bread Pudding

Nuts and Bolts snack mix (not really for lunch, but I am making this today)

Bill Phillips’ Eating for Life Enchiladas

Refritos

Tuesday

Spinach-Feta Salmon Burgers

Wednesday

Sloppy Joes

Steamed green beans

Thursday

LEFTOVERS!

Friday

Challah

Quick & Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Asian Beef with Broccoli (RealSimple, Feb. 2103)

Saturday

Challah

Honey Bourbon Chicken

Butternut Squash Bread Pudding

Sunday

Chocolate Chip Pancakes

Loaded Veggie Quesadillas

Refritos

Leave a Reply

